Construction was completed on a six-story residence hall, DePaul's first permanent student residence, at 2312 N. Clifton Ave. on the Lincoln Park Campus (see 1976).

Clifton Hall (now Munroe Hall) was DePaul's first residence hall (photo courtesy DePaul PR & Communications).

DePaul organized the first university senate, a 75-member body comprised of students, faculty and staff, with a representative voice in the institution's affairs.

Like most universities, DePaul was the site of anti-war demonstrations in the 1960s and 70s.
Activities, Students

Students lie in the street in front of the Schmitt Academic Center to protest the Vietnam War.


DePaul receives a two-year, $150,000 matching grant from the National Institute of Mental Health and the Illinois Department of Mental Health to establish a mental health clinic (named the Mental Health Center), the only funded facility of its kind in the country attached to a department of psychology.
Administration, Academics

Construction was completed on a three-story student union at 2324 N. Seminary Ave. on the Lincoln Park Campus, named the University Center (see 1978), and renamed the Stuart Center in 1978.

The University Center, later the Stuart Center, included the student cafeteria (photo courtesy of DePaul Archives).