Catalog Version

Winter/Spring/Summer 2014-2015
Catalog update:
October 17, 2014

Access archived catalogs in the Catalog Archive section.​​​​​

Students are required to follow the Academic Handbook and Code of Student Responsibility

​Academic calendars for additional years are available on the Academic Affairs website.

Please note any student enrolled in an online learning class offered by the College of Computing and Digital Media (CDM): Online learning classes offered by CDM have different registration dates than the institutional registration dates.  Please consult the Academic Affairs calendar for these dates.

AUTUMN QUARTER 2014​ ​
Monday September 1 Labor Day - University Closed
Tuesday September 2 Begin Immersion Week of Discover Chicago Program
​Friday ​September 5 ​Annual Academic Convocation
TUITION DUE: AUTUMN QUARTER
​Tuesday ​September 9 ​New Student Service Day
Wednesday September 10 BEGIN AUTUMN QUARTER 2014 ALL CLASSES
Tuesday September 16 Last day to add classes to AQ 2014 schedule
Tuesday September 23 Last day to drop classes with no penalty
Last day to select pass/fail option
Wednesday September 24 Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Tuesday September 30 Last day to select auditor status
Wednesday ​October 1 DEADLINE: Application for November 2014 degree conferral
Wednesday October 8
Begin optional mid-term exam week
Tuesday October 14 End optional mid-term exam week
Tuesday October 28 Last day to withdraw from AQ 2014 classes
Tuesday November 18 End AQ2014 Day & Evening classes
Wednesday November 19
Begin AQ2014 Day & Evening Final Exams
Monday November 24 TUITION DUE: DECEMBER INTERSESSION
Tuesday November 25 End AQ2014 Day & Evening Final Exams
END AUTUMN QUARTER 2014
Thursday November 27 Thanksgiving Holiday - University Closed
Friday November 28 Thanksgiving Holiday - University Closed
Saturday November 29
Thanksgiving Holiday - University Closed
Sunday November 30 Thanksgiving Holiday - University Closed
Thursday December 4 AUTUMN 2014 GRADES DUE
IN Grades issued Winter 2014 lapse to F
R Grades issued Autumn 2013 lapse to F

DECEMBER 2014 QUARTER/GRADUATE INTERSESSION​
Deadline dates for enrollment transactions based on 2-week quarter/intersession
Monday December 1 Begin December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Tuesday December 2
Last day to add classes for December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Wednesday December 3
Last day to drop classes w/no penalty
Last day to select pass/fail option
Last day to select auditor status
Thursday December 5 Grades of W assigned on or after this day for all classes dropped
Friday December 5 TUITION DUE: WINTER QUARTER 2015
Tuesday December 9
Last day to withdraw from December Intersession classes
Friday December 19 End December Quarter/Graduate Intersession (some classes may end later)
Tuesday December 23 St. Vincent de Paul Day-University Closed

Wednesday -
Thursday

December 24 -
January 1

Holiday Break University officially closed

WINTER QUARTER 2015 ​ ​
Saturday January 3 BEGIN WQ 2015 SATURDAY CLASSES
Monday January 5 BEGIN WQ2015 DAY AND EVENING CLASSES
​Wednesday ​January 7 ​DECEMBER INTERCESSION GRADES DUE
Friday January 9 Last day to add classes to WQ2015 schedule
Tuesday January 15 DEADLINE: Application for March 2015 degree conferral
Friday January 16 Last day to drop classes with no penalty
​Last day to select pass/fail option
Saturday January 17 Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Friday January 23 Last day to select auditor status
​Saturday January 31 Begin optional mid-term exam week
Sunday February 1 DEADLINE: Application for June 2015 Commencement and June 2015 Degree Conferral
Friday February 6 End optional mid-term exam week
Friday February 20 Last day to withdraw from WQ2015 classes
Friday March 13 TUITION DUE: SPRING QUARTER 2015
End WQ Day & Evening Classes
Saturday March 14 Begin WQ 2015 Day & Evening Final Exams
Friday March 20 End WQ 2015 Day & Evening Final Exams
END WINTER QUARTER 2014
Saturday March 21 Begin Spring Break
Friday March 27 End Spring Break
GRADES DUE: WINTER 2015
IN Grades issued Spring and Summer 2014 lapse to F
R Grades issued Winter 2014 lapse to F

SPRING QUARTER 2015
Saturday March 28 BEGIN Saturday SQ2015 CLASSES
Monday March 30 BEGIN SQ2015 DAY & EVENING CLASSES
Friday April 3
Last day to add classes to SQ2015 schedule
Good Friday - University officially closed
​Saturday ​April 4 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
​Sunday ​April 5 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
Friday April 10 Last day to drop classes with no penalty
Last day to select pass/fail option
Saturday April 11 Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Friday ​April 17 Last day to select auditor status
Saturday April 25 Begin optional mid-term exam week
Friday May 1 End optional mid-term exam week
Friday May 15 Last day to withdraw from SQ2015 classes
Monday May 25 Memorial Day (Observed) - University Closed
Friday June 5 End SQ2015 Day & Evening Classes
Saturday June 6
Begin SQ2015 Final Exams
Friday June 12 End SQ2015 Final Exams
END SPRING QUARTER 2015
​Baccalaureate Mass
Graduation Weekend Kick Off
TUITION DUE: SUMMER 
Saturday June 13 COMMENCEMENT
Sunday June 14 COMMENCEMENT
Friday June 19
GRADES DUE: SPRING 2015
IN Grades issued Autumn 2014 lapse to F
R Grades issued Spring 2014 lapse to F

   

SUMMER TERM 2015
Friday June 12 TUITION DUE 2015 TERM
Monday June 15 BEGIN SUMMER 2015 TERM
Friday July 3 Independence Day (Observed) - University Closed
Friday August 21 End Summer 2015 Term
Friday August 28 GRADES DUE: SUMMER 2015
R Grades issued Summer 2014 lapse to F

Special Notes Regarding Summer 2015

​Enrollment Policies: Deadlines are based on the percentage of the course instruction received:

  • Add: Students can add a course up until the course has met for 10% of the course duration.
  • Drop: Students can drop a course with no penalty up until the course has met for 20% of the course duration.
  • Pass/Fail: Undergraduate students can apply to put a course on pass/fail up until the course has met for 20% of the course duration.
  •  Audit: Students can apply to audit a course up until the course has met for 30% of the course duration.
  • Withdraw: Students can withdraw with penalty between the 20% and 70% of the course duration.   After 70% instruction, students cannot withdraw.