Catalog Version

Autumn 2015-2016
Catalog update: 
May 15, 2015

Access archived catalogs in the Catalog Archive section.​​​​​

Students are required to follow the Academic Handbook and Code of Student Responsibility​​

​Academic calendars for additional years are available on the Academic Affairs website.

Please note any student enrolled in an online learning class offered by the College of Computing and Digital Media (CDM): Online learning classes offered by CDM have different registration dates than the institutional registration dates.  Please consult the Academic Affairs calendar for these dates.

AUTUMN QUARTER 2015​
Monday August 31 Begin Immersion Week of Discover Chicago Program
Friday September 4 TUITION DUE: AUTUMN QUARTER
​Monday ​September 7 ​Labor Day - University officially closed
Wednesday September 9 BEGIN AUTUMN QUARTER 2015 ALL CLASSES
​Tuesday ​September 15
Last day to add (or swap) classes to AQ2015 schedule
Tuesday
September 22 Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
Last day to select pass/fail option
Wednesday
September 23 Grades of "W" assigned for AQ2015 classes dropped on or after this day
Tuesday September 29 Last day to select auditor status
Monday October 19 Begin December Quarter/Graduate Intercession Registration
Begin Winter Quarter 2016 Registration
​Thursday ​October 1 DEADLINE: Application for November 2015 degree conferral
Tuesday October 27 Last day to withdraw from AQ 2015 classes
Tuesday November 17 End AQ2015 Day & Evening classes
Wednesday November 18 Begin AQ2015 Day & Evening Final Exams
​AQ2015 Grading Available for Faculty
Monday November 23 TUITION DUE: December Quarter/Graduate Intercession  2015
Tuesday November 24 End AQ2014 Day & Evening Final Exams
END AUTUMN QUARTER 2015
Thursday November 26 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Friday November 27 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Saturday November 28 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Sunday November 29 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Thursday December 3 AUTUMN 2015 GRADES DUE
IN Grades issued Winter 2015 lapse to F
R Grades issued Autumn 2014 lapse to F

DECEMBER 2015 QUARTER/GRADUATE INTERSESSION​
Deadline dates for enrollment transactions based on 2-week quarter/intersession
Monday November 30 Begin December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Tuesday December 1
Last day to add (or swap) classes for December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Wednesday December 2 Last day to drop classes w/no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
Last day to select pass/fail option
Last day to select auditor status
Thursday December 3
Grades of W assigned on or after this day for all classes dropped
Friday December 4 TUITION DUE: WINTER QUARTER 2016
Tuesday December 8
Last day to withdraw from December Intersession December Quarter/Graduate Intercession  classes
Friday December 18 End December Quarter/Graduate Intersession (some classes may end earlier)
Wednesday December 23 St. Vincent de Paul Day-University officially closed

Thursday -
Friday

December 24 -
January 1

Holiday Break University officially closed

WINTER QUARTER 2016 ​ ​
Monday January 4 BEGIN WQ2016 DAY AND EVENING CLASSES
​Wednesday ​January 6 ​December Quarter/Graduate Intercession 2015 GRADES DUE
Sunday
January 10 Last day to add (or swap) classes to WQ2016 schedule
January 15 DEADLINE: Application for March 2015 degree conferral
Friday January 15 Last day to select pass/fail option
​Sunday ​January 17 ​Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
​Monday ​January 18 ​Martin Luther King Day - University officially closed
​Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Friday January 22 Last day to select auditor status
Monday February 1 DEADLINE: Application for June 2015 Commencement and June 2015 Degree Conferral
​Monday ​February 8 ​Begin SQ2016 and Summer 2016 Registration
Sunday February 21 Last day to withdraw from WQ2016 classes
Friday March 11 TUITION DUE: SPRING QUARTER 2016
Saturday March 12 End WQ 2016 Day & Evening Classes
Monday March 14 ​Begin WQ 2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
WQ 2016 Grading Available for Faculty
Saturday March 19 End WQ 2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
END WINTER QUARTER 2016
Saturday March 19 Begin Spring Break
​Friday ​March 25 End Spring Break
Friday March 25 ​Good Friday - University officially closed
​Saturday ​March 26 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
​Sunday ​March 27 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
Monday March 28 GRADES DUE: WINTER 2016
IN Grades issued Spring and Summer 2015 lapse to F
R Grades issued Winter 2015 lapse to F

SPRING QUARTER 2016
Monday March 28 BEGIN SQ2016 DAY & EVENING CLASSES
Sunday April 3 Last day to add (or swap) classes to SQ2016 schedule
Friday April 8 Last day to select pass/fail option 
Sunday April 10 Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
Monday April 11 Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Friday ​April 15 Last day to select auditor status
​Monday ​May 2 ​Begin AQ2016 Registration
Sunday May 15 Last day to withdraw from SQ2016 classes
Monday May 30 Memorial Day - University officially closed
Friday June 3 End SQ2016 Day & Evening Classes
Saturday June 4 Begin SQ2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
​SQ2016 Grading Available for Faculty
Friday June 10 End SQ2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
END SPRING QUARTER 2016
​Baccalaureate Mass
Graduation Weekend Kick Off
TUITION DUE: SUMMER 
Saturday June 11 COMMENCEMENT
Sunday June 12 COMMENCEMENT
Friday June 17 GRADES DUE: SPRING 2016
IN Grades issued Autumn 2015 lapse to F
R Grades issued Spring 2015 lapse to F

   

SUMMER TERM 2016
Monday June 13 BEGIN SUMMER 2016 TERM
Monday July 4 Independence Day - University officially closed
​Friday ​July 15 ​​DEADLINE: Application for August 2016 degree conferral
Friday August 19 End Summer 2016 Term
Friday August 26 GRADES DUE: SUMMER 2016 TERM
R Grades issued Summer 2015 lapse to F

Special Notes Regarding Summer 2016

​Enrollment Policies: Deadlines are based on the percentage of the course instruction received:

  • Add: Students can add a course up until the course has met for 10% of the course duration.
  • Drop: Students can drop a course with no penalty up until the course has met for 20% of the course duration.
  • Pass/Fail: Undergraduate students can apply to put a course on pass/fail up until the course has met for 20% of the course duration.
  •  Audit: Students can apply to audit a course up until the course has met for 30% of the course duration.
  • Withdraw: Students can withdraw with penalty between the 20% and 70% of the course duration.   After 70% instruction, students cannot withdraw.