Catalog Version

Autumn 2016-2017
Catalog update: 
May 16, 2016

Access archived catalogs in the Catalog Archive section.​​​​​

Students are required to follow the Academic Handbook and Code of Student Responsibility​​​

​Academic calendars for additional years are available on the Academic Affairs website.

Please note any student enrolled in an online learning class offered by the College of Computing and Digital Media (CDM): Online learning classes offered by CDM have different registration dates than the institutional registration dates.  Please consult the Academic Affairs calendar for these dates.

AUTUMN QUARTER 2016
Monday August 29 Begin Immersion Week of Discover Chicago Program
Friday September 2 TUITION DUE: AUTUMN QUARTER
​Monday ​September 5 ​Labor Day - University officially closed
Wednesday September 7 BEGIN AUTUMN QUARTER 2016 ALL CLASSES
​Tuesday ​September 13
Last day to add (or swap) classes to AQ2016 schedule
Tuesday
September 20 Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
Last day to select pass/fail option
Wednesday
September 21 Grades of "W" assigned for AQ2016 classes dropped on or after this day
Tuesday September 27 Last day to select auditor status
​Saturday ​October 1 DEADLINE: Application for November 2016 degree conferral
Monday October 17 Begin December Quarter/Graduate Intercession Registration
Begin Winter Quarter 2017 Registration
Tuesday October 25 Last day to withdraw from AQ 2016 classes
Tuesday November 15 End AQ2016 Day & Evening classes
Wednesday November 16 Begin AQ2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
​AQ2016 Grading Available for Faculty
Monday November 21 TUITION DUE: December Quarter/Graduate Intersession  2016
Tuesday November 22 End AQ2016 Day & Evening Final Exams
END AUTUMN QUARTER 2016
Thursday November 24 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Friday November 25 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Saturday November 26 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Sunday November 27 Thanksgiving Holiday - University officially closed
Thursday December 1 AUTUMN 2016 GRADES DUE
IN Grades issued Winter 2016 lapse to F
R Grades issued Autumn 2015 lapse to F

DECEMBER 2016 QUARTER/GRADUATE INTERSESSION​
Deadline dates for enrollment transactions based on 2-week quarter/intersession
Monday November 28 Begin December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Tuesday November 29
Last day to add (or swap) classes for December Quarter/Graduate Intersession
Wednesday November 30 Last day to drop classes w/no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
Last day to select pass/fail option
Last day to select auditor status
Thursday December 1
Grades of W assigned on or after this day for all classes dropped
Friday December 2 TUITION DUE: WINTER QUARTER 2017
Tuesday December 6
Last day to withdraw from December Intersession December Quarter/Graduate Intercession  classes
Friday December 16 End December Quarter/Graduate Intersession (some classes may end earlier)
Friday December 23 St. Vincent de Paul Day-University officially closed

Saturday-
Sunday

December 24 -
January 1

Holiday Break University officially closed

WINTER QUARTER 2017
Monday January 2 BEGIN WINTER QUARTER 2017 ALL CLASSES
​Monday ​January 2 ​December Quarter/Graduate Intercession 2016 GRADES DUE
Sunday
January 8 Last day to add (or swap) classes to WQ2016 schedule
​Friday ​January 13 ​Last day to select pass/fail option
Sunday January 15 DEADLINE: Application for March 2015 degree conferral
​Sunday ​January 15 ​Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
​Monday ​January 16 ​Martin Luther King Day - University officially closed
​Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Friday January 20 Last day to select auditor status
Wednesday February 1 DEADLINE: Application for June 2017 Commencement and June 2017 Degree Conferral
​Monday ​February 6 ​Begin SQ2017 and Summer 2017 Registration
Sunday February 19 Last day to withdraw from WQ2017 classes
Friday March 10 TUITION DUE: SPRING QUARTER 2017
Saturday March 11 End WQ 2017 Day & Evening Classes
Monday March 13 ​Begin WQ 2017 Day & Evening Final Exams
WQ 2017 Grading Available for Faculty
Saturday March 18 End WQ 2017 Day & Evening Final Exams
END WINTER QUARTER 2017
Begin Spring Break
​Friday ​March 24 End Spring Break
GRADES DUE: WINTER 2017
IN Grades issued Spring and Summer 2016 lapse to F
R Grades issued Winter 2016 lapse to F

SPRING QUARTER 2017
Saturday March 25 BEGIN SPRING QUARTER 2017 ALL CLASSES
Friday March 31 Last day to add (or swap) classes to SQ2017 schedule
Friday April 7 Last day to drop classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript) 
Last day to select pass/fail option
Saturday April 8 Grades of "W" assigned for classes dropped on or after this day
Thursday ​April 13 Last day to select auditor status
​Friday ​April 14 ​​Good Friday - University officially closed
​Saturday ​April 15 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
​Sunday ​April 16 ​Easter Holiday - University officially closed
​Monday ​May 1 ​Begin AQ2017 Registration
Friday May 12 Last day to withdraw from SQ2017 classes
Monday May 29 Memorial Day - University officially closed
Friday June 2 End SQ2017 Day & Evening Classes
Saturday June 3 Begin SQ2017 Day & Evening Final Exams
​SQ2017 Grading Available for Faculty
Friday June 9 End SQ2017 Day & Evening Final Exams
END SPRING QUARTER 2017
​Baccalaureate Mass
Graduation Weekend Kick Off
TUITION DUE: SUMMER 
Saturday June 10 COMMENCEMENT
Sunday June 11 COMMENCEMENT
Friday June 17 GRADES DUE: SPRING 2017
IN Grades issued Autumn 2016 lapse to F
R Grades issued Spring 2016 lapse to F

   

SUMMER TERM 2017 (10-Week)
​Friday ​June 9 ​TUITION DUE: SUMMER TERM (10-week)
Monday June 12 BEGIN SUMMER 2017 (10-week) TERM
​Friday ​June 16 ​​Last day to add (or swap) classes to Summer 2017 (10 week) Term  schedule
​GRADES DUE: SPRING 2016
​IN Grades issued Autumn 2016 lapse to F
​R Grades issued Spring 2016 lapse to F
​Friday ​June 23 ​Last day to drop Summer 2017 (10 week) Term classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
​Last day to select pass/fail option for Summer 2017 (10 week) Term
​Saturday ​June 24 ​Grades of "W" assigned for Summer 2017 (10 week) Term classes dropped on or after this day
​Friday ​June 30 ​Last day to select auditor status for Summer 2017 (10 week) Term classes
Tuesday July 4 Independence Day - University officially closed
​Saturday ​July 15 ​​DEADLINE: Application for August 2017 degree conferral
​Friday ​July 28 ​Last day to withdraw from Summer 2017 (10 week) Term  classes
Sunday August 20 End Summer 2017 (10 week) Term
Friday August 25 GRADES DUE: SUMMER 2017 TERM
R Grades issued Summer 2016 lapse to F

SUMMER SESSION I 2017 (5 weeks)
​Friday ​June 10 ​​TUITION DUE: SUMMER SESSION I
Monday June 12 BEGIN SUMMER SESSION I 2017
​Tuesday ​June 13 ​Last day to add (or swap) classes to Summer Session I 2017 schedule
​​Friday ​June 16 ​Last day to drop Summer Session I 2017 classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
​​​Last day to select pass/fail option for Summer Session I 2017 
​Last day to select auditor status for Summer Session I 2017 
​GRADES DUE: SPRING 2017
​IN Grades issued Autumn 2016 lapse to F
​R Grades issued Spring 2016 lapse to F
​Saturday ​June 17 ​Grades of "W" assigned for Summer Session I classes dropped on or after this day
Tuesday July 4 Independence Day - University officially closed
​Wednesday ​July 5 ​​Last day to withdraw from Summer Session I 2017 classes
​Friday ​July 14 TUITION DUE: SUMMER SESSION II​​
Saturday ​July 15 DEADLINE: Application for August 2017 degree conferral
Sunday July 16 End Summer Session I 2017
Friday July 21 GRADES DUE: SUMMER SESSION I 2017

SUMMER SESSION II 2017 (5 weeks)
​Friday ​July 14 ​TUITION DUE: SUMMER SESSION II
Monday July 17 BEGIN SUMMER SESSION II 2017
​Tuesday ​July 18 ​Last day to add (or swap) classes to Summer Session II 2017 schedule
​​Friday ​July 21 ​Last day to drop Summer Session II 2017 classes with no penalty (100% tuition refund if applicable and no grade on transcript)
​​​Last day to select pass/fail option for Summer Session II 2017 
​Last day to select auditor status for Summer Session II 2017 
​GRADES DUE: SUMMER I 2017
​Saturday ​July 22 ​Grades of "W" assigned for Summer Session II classes dropped on or after this day
​Wednesday August 9 ​​Last day to withdraw from Summer Session II 2017 classes
Sunday August 20 End Summer Session II 2017
Friday August 25 GRADES DUE: SUMMER SESSION II 2017
​GRADES DUE: SUMMER 2017 TERM
​R Grades issued Summer 2016 lapse to F