​Physicists study and apply the laws of nature to answer fundamental questions about the evolution of the universe, the nature of light and matter, and the behavior of the natural world. The Physics department at DePaul offers a full, rich curriculum in undergraduate and graduate education. Currently the home to more than 10 full and part-time faculty and approximately 50 majors and minors, the department offers courses on the Lincoln Park Campus. In addition to its strong undergraduate program with concentrations in standard physics and computational physics, the department offers dual engineering degrees in conjunction with the Illinois Institute of Technology, and a Master's degree in Applied Physics.

The department also serves as the host department for CIRRUS, the Chicago Initiative for Research and Retention for Undergraduates in Science. This NSF funded program provides all science majors at DePaul information on careers, internships, graduate schools, professional schools, etc.