The program in Counseling provides professionals with theoretical frameworks and competencies that prepare them to provide counseling services.  Within the Counseling Program, there are three degree programs.  These are community counseling, school counseling, and college student development.  The concentrations in community and school counseling integrate Illinois state requirements for licensure and all concentrations meet national standards for professional practice. All programs are 72 credit hours and include a 100-hour practicum and two 300 credit hour internships.  These clinical experiences are mandatory and for the school and community counseling concentrations are required by the state for  licensure.  A degree from this program gives rise to career opportunities such as school counseling in elementary, middle, and high schools; counseling in community agencies; counseling in higher education; career counseling through the lifespan; counseling in hospitals or institutional-care settings; group counseling; couples and family counseling; or counseling in private practice.  All of the programs emphasize and are designed to foster leadership, advocacy, and social justice. 


The Counseling program has three concentrations:

  • Concentration in College Student Development
  • Concentration in Community Counseling
  • Concentration in School Counseling​

Licensure Option

The Counseling program’s School Counseling concentration is an Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) approved program for the Illinois Professional Educator License with and endorsement in School Counseling.​

LPC Licensure Information

The State of Illinois requires that those who wish to work as a counselor have licensure as either a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) or an advanced Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC). The Counseling program’s Community Counseling concentration meets the educational requirements for the Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor.  However, there are further requirements that must be met.  For more information, contact the State of Illinois Department of Professional Regulation in Springfield, Illinois.  Their requirements are also listed on their web page.