The SNL curriculum is organized around the knowledge, skills and abilities that describe an educated adult in contemporary society. These are defined by a framework of 50 competence statements grouped in 3 areas: Lifelong Learning, Individual Focus, and Liberal Learning. Students demonstrate these degree requirements through SNL courses, independent learning projects, and transfer coursework.

Lifelong Learning Area

The Lifelong Learning Area has 12 competences that develop skills in reading, writing, goal setting, decision-making, teamwork, and research.

Liberal Learning Area

The Liberal Learning Area encompasses fields of study generally referred to as the Liberal Arts. Students satisfy 26 competences in this area.

This area is divided into 3 categories: Arts and Ideas (AI), Human Community (HC), and Scientific World (SW). Each category is divided into 3 subcategories.

Students complete 8 competences in each category and 2 additional Advanced Elective competences. Students must satisfy at least 1 competence from each subcategory, and 3 more from any subcategory. The 4th and 5th competences are required.

Arts and Ideas Category

This category includes the arts, philosophy, theology, literature, and other fields that focus on expression of values and aesthetics. The 3 subcategories are: Interpreting the Arts, Creative Expression, and Reflection and Meaning.

Human Community Category

This category includes human relations, history, political science, and other fields closely aligned with the development and maintenance of human society. The 3 subcategories are: Communities and Society, Institutions and Organizations, and Individual Development.

The Scientific World Category

This category includes fields related to scientific inquiry, technology, and relevant skills. The 3 subcategories in this area are: Experiencing Science, Patterns and Processes, and Science, Technology and Society.

Individual Focus Area

The Individual Focus Area may reflect a field of study, preparation for graduate study, a career goal or avocation. These 12 competences are defined by the student with the advice and approval of a faculty mentor and a professional advisor who has expertise in the area of interest.

The BA in Computing and BA in General Business each have a series of prescribed competence statements in their Focus Areas that correspond to particular course requirements.