Undergraduate Core Curriculum

At DePaul, our core curriculum — the  Liberal Studies Program — consists of two primary components: the Common Core and six distinct learning domains. Both components emphasize critical thinking, problem solving and communication skills, all taught in small classes with professors who care about students as individuals (93% of undergraduate classes have fewer than 40 students). If you're looking for a more intense challenge, you can apply to the university Honors Program as an alternative to the core curriculum.

Common Core courses are required each of your four years of study. The First-Year Program includes a Chicago Quarter course, during which you will learn more about two foundational characteristics of DePaul: our Chicago setting and our Vincentian nature. You’ll hone your critical thinking and learning skills through first-hand observation, community service and personal discovery. After the First-Year Program, you’ll continue with the Seminar on Multiculturalism in the United States, followed by a Junior Year Experiential Learning course​; and the Senior Year Capstone course.

The second component of the Liberal Studies Program is made up of six Learning Domains:

  • Arts and Literature
  • Philosophical Inquiry
  • Religious Dimensions
  • Scientific Inquiry
  • Self, Society, and the Modern World
  • Understanding the Past
These areas reflect a conventional liberal arts and sciences curriculum, yet are not discipline-based, encouraging students to understand connections and see diverse applications.

All undergraduate students (except in the School for New Learning) participate in the Liberal Studies Program, regardless of their college and major (although requirements​ vary by college).